Jan 19, 2005
Hello, I am just getting into tweaking my suspension after having ridden my 97 KX250 for about 6 months now.

I have finally got the clickers where I want them and now I have been reading about race sag and static sag.

I measured race sag at 114 mm and static at 38 mm which seem to be a little high. So it seems I need to tighten the rings and increase preload. right??

My biggest question is what is this going to do to my ride height? Will my bike sit higher or lower with me on it with more preload?

I would think it would be lower but I have read some conflicting reports such as "Decreasing the Race Sag measurement (tightening the spring preload) will raise the rear of your bike and help with cornering."

My bike is too tall for me as is so I don't want to increase the ride height at all.

If adding preload will make my bike taller, then I will probably leave it where it is and shave some foam off the seat.

btw, if it makes any difference I am 5' 7" and 185 lbs

KSHAFFER

~SPONSOR~
Sep 10, 2001
when you decrease sag, you will be raising the rear of the bike. you should have a difference of 95mm to 100mm. it will perform better if your between those 2 numbers.

Jan 19, 2005
So one other question about this. I dropped my forks about 6 mm lower than what the manual reccomends?

Should I perhaps be adding that 6 mm to my sag to compensate for the now *lower* front end to balance? Or should I still try to stay between 95mm and 100mm of sag.

So with the lower front end would it make sense to have my race sag at between 101 and 106 mm? Or is this not really logical thinking on my end.

I'm pretty new to all this and just trying to keep as much clearance as I can and still be able to touch the ground solid but do want to lower the bike a little.

btw, I will be cutting my seat foam down but I would like to keep some cushion on there. ;)

tx246

~SPONSOR~
May 8, 2001