Acblind

Aug 21, 2010
Hey guys,
I was thinking about getting a stabilizer for the Kdx, the scotts one i was looking at goes for about $400. I ride mostly trails, and never really make it past 4th gear. I've never used a stabilizer on a bike before, so I have no idea what to expect out of one. Is it worth it? What exactly do they help with?

KDXROCKET14

Mar 22, 2012
I have never ran one on my kdx 220, but have ridden others 250's with them on. They really benefit you a lot more in the desert where you hauling over rocks and whoops. If your front end is constantly bucking around then you would benefit from one. They are very nice, especially scotts, but for 400 bucks, i would just dial in your suspension. If you do go with one the scotts is a reliable unit. But for trail riding and not getting past 4th gear, i might look else where. Hope this helps,
Ryan.

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
They also work great on the trail, IMO, but you don't want is set as stiff as you do in the desert/whoops.

They will give you better control and confidence in single track, especially if you have lots of roots and rocks. Front end washouts will be a thing of the past.

My first one was a WER on my '90 KDX. Moved it to my KDX250 and then had a Scott's on my CRE. Both Scotts and WER work great. Can't adjust the WER on the move like the Scotts, but the WER is out of the way if you slam into your bars.

Steering stabilizers are one of the best mods you can make to a trail bike, after dialing in your suspension. The only downside is the high cost, but if it helps you avoid an expensive crash, it can pay for itself.

mudpack

Nov 13, 2008
I put stabilizers on all three of my trail bikes. I kept expecting some sort of "magic", I guess, but it never happened.
The ONLY benefit I could discern was reduced "wandering" on fast sand roads. Other than that, I noticed little to nothing in the way of handling improvements.

My advice is; for trails, save your money.

Acblind