Suspension & chassis set up CRF450R

jeffmort

Dec 15, 2007
I am trying to properly set up the suspension on my 2009 CRF450R. I am 5' 11", weight is 198 lbs. (with riding gear), and I am a novice level Vet rider. I ride MX tracks only in Southern California. I do not race - just a weekend warrior.
For the rear suspension, the closest I could get to proper set up with the stock spring is 97mm for RACE SAG and 40mm for FREE SAG. My manual calls for a range of 95-115mm for Race Sag - I am in spec for this.
The manual calls for 10-25mm of Free Sag - I am out of spec for this.
I have tried to adjust the spring pre-load to get within spec for the Free Sag but when I get within spec for Free Sag I end up out of spec for Race Sag.
The manual says that the stock springs are for a rider in the 165 lb range (I do not know if this is with or without gear - the manual does not specify). My bike feels pretty good as is but I do not have a reference point to compare to.
Based on what the manual says and the measurements that I got, I believe that I need a heavier rear spring - is this the correct conclusion?
Any help is appreciated.

jeffmort

Dec 15, 2007
Thanks.
One other question regarding the relationship between Race Sag and Free Sag:
As I adjust the rear to decrease the Race Sag (lessen the Race Sag measurement) by increasing the shock/spring pre-load (tightening the pre-load nut) should the Free Sag # also decrease?
If this is true, then the opposite should also be true (i.e. if I increase my Race Sag by decreasing the pre-load (loosening the nut) my Free Sag measurement should increase.
This is what seems to be happening when I make my adjustments - is this correct?

kawamaha

Mar 16, 2005
a free sag of 40mm indicates the spring is too stiff for you.
on the other side you have an average weight and I think your in the ballpark for the stock spring.
the 09CRF is supposed to be too high in the rear, so you may try 110mm of race sag?