MR.WR

Apr 7, 2000
I am replacing my grahpics on my GasGas and would like some tip from the pro's...

What is the best way to prep the plastic??

Will I need a neat gun??

Any info will help....

Thanks

Rick (SHORT 10 And A Wake Up):D

dirtnuts

Dec 1, 2000
Rick,

I'm no pro, but I did get some great advice from a sign guy who does primarily die cut graphics. Using his method, I just completed my first graphics job on my son's bike. It came out great, and was surprisingly easy to do.

I usually clean my plastic with a small amount of mildly abrasive go-jo on a damp rag. After cleaning, wipe the plastic down with rubbing alchohol. Dry fit the graphic, using masking tape to hold it in place, and use a grease pencil to mark about 1/8" from the edge at several locations. An index mark (just a small line drawn from the graphic to the plastic) helps align the rotation if the graphic is fairly large.

Fill a quart sprayer 3/4 full of warm water, add a drop of dish detergent, and shake lightly. Warm the graphic with a heat gun or hair dryer. Spray a fine mist of the soap/water solution on the plastic. Peel half the backing off and align the other half of the graphic. Working from the middle with a squeegee (I used a small spreader made for body filler, get the rubber ones if you can find them), apply the graphic to the tank squeezing out air bubbles as you go. Check the alignment often, as it is possible to slide the graphic around somewhat before it is fully applied. If you're as slow as me, you'll need to re-wet the tank before applying the second half. Peel the backing off the other side, and squeegee on.

I needed a heat gun to get the graphic to flow into all the nooks and crannies on the radiator shrouds. I got a bit carried away and melted a small corner of the graphic, so be careful.

That was it. Including prep time and admiring the finished product over a beer, it took about two hours for everything. Hope this helps.

Jeff

GlennP

Jun 6, 2000