Too much smoke & spooge from my CR?

jaypro55

Aug 6, 2001
I'm still very new to the two-stroke game. I've had my 2001 CR125 for about three weeks right now, and rode it hard really for the first time this past Sunday. The thing runs awesome, but I have a problem.

When I first got the bike, the piston cold seized on me the first day, which really I feel was not due to me since the bike was taken bike after only one week in the first place. Seems to me like the guy before me didn't run it correctly causing damage and me riding it easy for 20 minutes did it. Well anyway I got a new top end and cylinder sleeve free from the shop and they fixed it all up.

So ever since I have had it, I take extra care to let it warm up. I start it up from cold and allow it to idle for a good 5 minutes. During this time, it will usually begin to smoke. Now I know I have my mixture correct at 32:1 but I see the puffs of blue smoke typical of burnt oil. So after letting it idle, I usually rev it up and down smoothly a few times and the smoke is greyish and the bike doesn't want to hit high revs. When I pull out it's sluggish and it pops and smokes a lot, like it doesn't seem to want to go. But after another minute or so of riding like that, it's normal with the powerband as crisp as ever. And after the engine gets hot, the smoke is much much less. But during that first half hour, it can make a pretty decent puff when I hit it hard.

But I've seen my friends KTM 125 do the same thing when he lets it idle. When he gets on the throttle clouds of gray smoke and that popping noise. Like I said it goes away fairly quickly though. Here is another thing, I usually let it idle on my triangle stand but today I let it idle leaning straight up against the garage and it kinda smoked less. So maybe I should do that always.