Trail Riding: Ascents and Descents

sensei

Apr 1, 2008
Hi all,

Can anyone suggest any books, vids or magazine, etc. that offer solid tips for ascending and descending down technical trails with somewhat steep grades?

I went out today and had a blast. The new WR250R worked like a champ. The only thing holding it back was the pilot.

First, descent. The trails at the local ride park are one way. I was riding along and heading down an unfamiliar trail. First mistake, I know. Given I'm not very experienced off-road I should have looked over the map, talked to the ranger, etc first. but I didn't and came upon a trail with a steep, technical descent and no choice but to head down. On the left side was a single track rut on the other were heavy rocks and uneven terrain. Grade was steep, for me at least maybe 20% descent. I have plenty of mountain biking experience and have done some narly stuff in the Colorado rockies so I tried to use that experience but I didn't use it all. Took the side with the rut. Basically, I didn't know which gear I should be in, too nervous to just get on the gas. In the end I pulled in the clutch and rode the rear brake down. Bike stalled at one point and I managed to stop halfway down and restart...thank God for e-start. My cycling experience tells me I should've got on the pegs and butt back towards back of seat but I'm clueless about gear to be in etc. I saw another guy come down the same trail doing about 50mph no problem :yikes:

Any tips?