Trailer A/C ?

Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Messages
394
Likes
1
#1
Im looking into hooking up my trailer 7X16 enclosed trailer with A/C does anyone know a company that sells the units ? I guess I just cut open a hole in the roof where the vent is currently. Its a tandem axle Horten Hauler trailer.
 

Motogrl307

Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
Messages
93
Likes
0
#2
Go to a camper sales place or camping world they sell the A/C for campers that will work
 

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
Joined
Nov 24, 2000
Messages
4,757
Likes
52
#3
if you do away with your vent, i might be interested in buying it. my trailer doesn't have one.
 

nikki

Moto Junkie
Joined
Apr 21, 2000
Messages
5,802
Likes
1
#5
We got a used roof air (from a RV) for our trailer - it should fit right in where the vent currently is. Motogrl is right - check out camping/RV/trailer places. I want to say the new roof air units run around $450-650.
 

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
Joined
Nov 24, 2000
Messages
4,757
Likes
52
#6
Originally posted by justql
How was your trailer Saturday night?
it was pretty hot. i had two fans running off a marine battery and inverter. at about 2:00 a.m. i got the first low battery warning. i shut off everything except the fan that was on me (selfish). the warning went off again about 4:00 a.m. i shut it down for awhile, then turned it on again. it only lasted about fifteen minutes. by then it was almost cool enough to sleep.
i had my generator with me but i was too lazy/sleepy to get it out and fire it up. i figured it would just keep me awake anyway. i ended up getting about five hours of sleep.

and how was your air-conditioned camper? wimp...;)
 

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
Joined
Nov 24, 2000
Messages
4,757
Likes
52
#7
Originally posted by nikki
We got a used roof air (from a RV) for our trailer
how much generator power do you need to run it? or do you just use it when you have electrical hook-ups?
 
Joined
May 21, 2000
Messages
151
Likes
0
#8
A/C

I could be wrong, but I believe that unless you are hooked to a 120 volt power supply you will need to run the generator to be able to run the AC. Some places discouage the use of generators after 10:00 PM.
 

nikki

Moto Junkie
Joined
Apr 21, 2000
Messages
5,802
Likes
1
#9
We use a 5000 watt generator to run the A/C along with the other goodies (fans, tv, vcr, lights, etc...) we have the trailer wired through 2 circuits (the big 240? volt plug from the generator hooks to the trailer) One circuit is just the A/C unit and the other is everything else.

I want to say that you need at least 3000-3500 watts to run the roof air. If we plug in to a 120? volt electircal hook up - it only runs the one circuit (no A/C).
 

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
Joined
Nov 24, 2000
Messages
4,757
Likes
52
#10
looks like i won't be getting air anytime soon. my generator is only 1850 watts. man, all this stuff is getting expensive!
 

KLX4smoke

Lifetime Sponsor
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
159
Likes
0
#11
If power usage and $$$ are the main factors, you could get a regular home window ac unit that can be mounted in the wall. You may need to fabricate some bracing for the unit, and obviously cut a hole in your trailer wall. Sharp makes a unit that is very quiet for about $200 and it only uses 500 watts. (5000 btu?) That is their model # fr50bx if I remember right. But there are many different brands and models that are under 1000 watts power usage for even cheaper. This setup works for me in my camper van, and runs on my wimpy(quiet) Yamaha 800watt generator all night long.
 

Motogrl307

Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
Messages
93
Likes
0
#12
An RV A/C only takes 1300 watts to run. We have a 2500 watt honda and it runs our air and lights fine. You can't run the A/C with the microwave at the same time but everything else is fine
 

Tony Williams

Lifetime Sponsor
Joined
Mar 23, 2000
Messages
592
Likes
0
#13
The Sharp model AF-M509X is 5000 BTU, but there isn't any specs on the www.sharp-use.com web page about power consumption.

Costco in San Dieog has the Sharp a/c for $179.
 

KLX4smoke

Lifetime Sponsor
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
159
Likes
0
#14
OK, I looked at my Sharp model AF-R50BX and the tag shows this...
5000btu
4.5 Amps
500 Watt

It runs on normal house current (110 volt) and my Yamaha generator runs it and my tv/vcr and some lights and the water pump just fine.
 

Tony Williams

Lifetime Sponsor
Joined
Mar 23, 2000
Messages
592
Likes
0
#15
I see Honda has upgraded their briefcase size generator from 1000 to 2000 watts. About $850

With that, you could run a microwave also.