AR15 guy

Mar 15, 2006
First off I am a noob when it comes to dirt biking and ATV's. Just recently decided to get into dirt biking with some friends (most on ATV's but couple on bikes). I will be doing trails mostly. Up and down hills here in WV so I am looking at the mid-size 230 series yamaha ttr230 or the honda crf230. I have been reading reviews and people seem to think the Honda is built better and faster.

I plan on buying a bike very very soon. I am 5' 9'' and 180lbs. I know these bikes are alittle heavy but I am strong. Most of that 180lbs is muscle (260 max bench right now :) ). I am also 21 so I don't expect to get any taller. I have sat on both bikes and they honestly feel the same height and weight wise. However I do like the fact the honda has a key and not a switch.

Dealer I am going through is pushing the ttr230 on me. It is also cheaper at 2995$ compared to the honda at 3200$. However if the Honda is better I will pay the extra 200$. He is telling me the ttr230 will be faster. He runs the honda side of the shop but is recommending yamaha bikes :coocoo:

As far as power, reliability, and all around performance goes which of these bikes do you prefer?

Right now these are the only two I am considering. They are shorter agile 4 strokes which is what I really need for the riding I will be doing. Most trails here are of course up and down hills, sometimes having to go rather slow so a 2 smoke is out of the question.

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:

TimberPig

Jan 19, 2006
If you're happy with it, buy a 230, but I would buy something with a little more performance capabilities. A KDX 200 would wipe the trails with the 230 when you want to, while being just as easy to ride. The 230's are very tame, and will likely become boring in a short time. A KDX is built for the type of riding you describe, it isn't a peaky, high revving motocross bike.

02rm125

Mar 15, 2006