ADivotMaker

Mar 3, 2004
After my first MX race, I quickly learned that cornering is where I need to spend more time practicing. I just ordered the Gary Semics cornering DVD, but it won't be here for a week or so. My question is on how much the front brake should be used when cornering. I've never used it in corners, in fact I hardly use it all when riding in general, mainly because I have no clue on the proper use. So, if anyone can share some of the best ways to use the front brakes in cornering, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.

muddy226

Sponsoring Member
Sep 14, 2003
Gary Semics will tell you all about it, I'm no expert but the only time I use the front brake in a corner is just lightly to help keep the front wheel in a rut, and it has the effect of stopping the wheel from climbing out of the rut or too far up a berm. You will need to learn how to use the throttle and front brake at same time, which is actually a lot asier than it sounds. As for other use, as you get faster you'll pretty soon find out that the front brake is the quickest way to slow down in most situations.

SpectraSVT

Apr 17, 2002
How much front brake you use is determined by your speed and type of corner. Some corners you can go real deep into the corner and brake hard while others tend to use very lil front brake and you go on momentum. I personally use the front brake hard with light pressure on rear to keep bike stabilized on tighter corners. For sweeping corners the front brake is just feathered to keep control of the bike. I haven't mastered the use of the front brake in ruts so I can't help ya there. But always be smooth and apply gradual pressure. Quick hard stabs of the front brake will put you down hard.

tedkxkdx

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 6, 2003
Since you never use your front brake you should practice stopping in a straight line with both brakes. Make a marker like Semics states so you can monitor your progress.
Some people slow too much for the corner and waste time.

Shig