what kind of power does a cr125 put out?

lippy8

Jun 28, 2010
hey im new to the sport and was wondering if i should go for a cr125 or jump right up to a 250 to save the cash. How long would you say it takes to grow out of the power? i would mainly use it for just ripping around doing hill climbs a few trails and going to the track the odd day. im 16, 5'6 and 150 pounds. i have a little bit of experiance on bikes but not a ton.

mathd

Oct 11, 2008
Start with a 125.
They are fun bike, have plenty of power and are really not heavy.
250 is for racing, if all you want is a bike to play around go with the 125.

wake_rider

Feb 21, 2007
Absolutely, go with the 125. A 125 teaches you to be a much better rider in so many different ways, where as a 250 will often times make you weary and at times scared of it so you never learn how to use the bikes motor and power correctly. You end up fouling a whole lot of plugs because you ride it way down low in the rpm's in order to keep it tame, but that's no way to ride a smoker. Get the 125, it will take you years to learn how to use that bike to even 75% of its capabilities.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
but if you want to pull up next to your buddy on the trail while hes on a 125 in 4th gear, give him a quick wave and wheelie out of his sight, get the 250.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Hill climb? Not a 125.

jb_dallas

Feb 17, 2009
Patman hit the nail on the head....a 125 2 stroke is NOT a trail bike..they have very little low end power...they are NOT geared for the trail...etc, etc. If you are going to ride trails, buy a trail bike...simple.

wake_rider

Feb 21, 2007
jb_dallas said:
Patman hit the nail on the head....a 125 2 stroke is NOT a trail bike..they have very little low end power...they are NOT geared for the trail...etc, etc. If you are going to ride trails, buy a trail bike...simple.