Whats the point buying a two stroke anymore?

bimmernate

Jun 30, 2006
So I am a newbie, but I have a question. I was researching some stuff today, being that im in the market, and the bikes in my price range are all two strokes.

I read that this year the govt. is banning two strokes newer than 98 from parks, etc. Well, what the heck, and I have also read on this board that everyone is losing places to ride. Noise being number one. I suppose emissions is another reason. I suppose that I could find private tracks, etc. But I dont have alot of connections in the business, and govt. outdoor riding parks would seem like a good place if all else fails.

Anyway, I cant afford a four stroke right now, and I dont want to get stuck with a bike that I cant ride anywhere...I was planning on taking it up north to the dunes around the great lakes, and im sure those places arent as worried about things as a trail park on the outskirts of a city with houses by it, but I just dont want to buy a bike and have it sit. It sort of saddened me a little, whats going on here?

I read this in one of those 101 projects to do to your bike books.

thanks. :ride:

larosche

Apr 20, 2000
2 strokes are not becoming banned (unless you live in CA where everything is weird). The BEST reason to buy a 2 stroke is reliability.
4 strokes (modern) require big cost rebuilds every year. You can ride a 2 stroke for 4 years without ever changing the rings.
Also you need to keep on top of the valve adjustments (not easy on some bikes like Honda).
If money is the primary issue then stay away from 4 strokes.
RAD DAD

bimmernate

Jun 30, 2006
Oh, so I can still ride them quite easily then around the country besides cali. Hmm you have brightened my outlook, the book should have been more specific. Excellent, I can keep looking for a good bike then, and its good to know about reliability also because this will be a first bike where I should learn the machines first.

Okiewan

Admin
Dec 31, 1969
Texas