white smoke, bubbles in coolant, need a leak down test??? How???

cowasucky

Feb 23, 2009
2003 kx 250 has sputtery idle with large plumes of white smoke to go with it. I was told to check my open radiator after cranking it up and check for bubbles and sure enough the coolant was "jumping" out of the radiator. My coolant level hasn't dropped though, atleast not noticeably. I was also told to do a leak down test. How do I do that ? Is it fairly simple a? I'm no mechanic, but I recently rebuilt my clutch and did a fine job if I do saY so myself....so I'm capable just not very experienced. Does this sound like I'm facing a serious repair here??? The bike runs really goog.....really, really good, except for the smoke and sputtery idle. Please help, I can't afford a mechanic, but I love to ride my bike. I ride every weekend with my 11yr old son. And his 03 yz85 so I have to keep this bike in top shape. Thanks guys, y'all haven't failed me yet !!!

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
Did you fix the head gasket leak yet? You have found the source of your problem. You do not really need a leak down test for that. At least till you fix the head. O-rings or a gasket? Was the plug black?

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
Yeah, you have a combustion chamber leak. Pull the head and visually inspect for a damaged gasket or cracks in the metal. Check the head for warpage as well.

A leak down test will just bubble the coolant which you know it's doing anyway. This test is more helpful to diagnose crank seals.

cowasucky

Feb 23, 2009