rockymtnRM250

Dec 25, 2006
First off, I'm a beginner to offroad bikes. Had a DRZ400E for a short time before someone wanted it more then me.. Came from quads and rode street bikes for many a year and think i may have a bad habit. I just bought a 06RM250,had the full gear on, speeds were ~20-25mph as i was not familiar with the trail i was on. Climbing a small hill bout 20 feet with a little grade, got to the top and there were riders sitting on both sides of the trail taking a break. The decent was mild with a little off camber, moist dirt surface, and the only thing i can think of my street bike ways of using the front brake must have occurred. Next thing i knew, bars were turned to the lock against the camber of hill, I hit the ground, bars dug in hard, bent bad, rear of bike stood straight up, and bike fell right down on my leg with the foot peg. Needless to say, i may need an xray tomorrow as the bugger hurts.

I am fully sure that may lack of experience caused this. I bought several motocross techniques DVD's from Gary Semics school to learn tips and practice but I need advice from you guys on front brake use. His videos suggest using both to slow the bike and i can see in the "right situation" that working, but I am sure off camber isn't a good idea as i found today :( The guy that helped me up suggested I remove the front lever to break the habit (if thats the case)and only break with the rear for a while. Does this make sense? I know the RM an advanced bike for a beginner, but I treat it with respect and don't ride outside my comfort level and sure this would have occurred on the DRZ if i was on it.
I love the bike, just need more seat time and plan to get back on the horse after getting some parts replaced..

Like to hear what your breaking styles are. Sorry for the long post and thanks for reading. David

decade377

Dec 17, 2006