Jan 26, 2009
So the guy next door is selling a Honda 1986 TRX-R that has a 310CC bore kit but he said its jetted for aviation fuel, I am assuming he means 100LL cause that's what they sell around here. (My GF is thinking of buying it so we both have a bike/quad to ride)

Now that isnt cheap stuff 3.90 a gal.
I am new to all this bike stuff, would it still be safe to run 91 pump on the bike?

Is there any downside or upsides to using 100LL?

Thanks all.

Oh and BTW we are both new riders just cruising around the dunes and dirt no racing.

Jan 26, 2009
Hmm good post,

It seems I might have to get this thing re-jetted for pump gas if this quad is in fact jetted and tuned for avgas. (If i end up buying it)

thank you for the reply.

Jan 26, 2009
Is there any way to test to see if 91 is ok to use?

i would like to TRY to bypass re-jetting, I have no idea how to do it and i did not really wanna bring it into a shop.

sick 96 250

Damn Yankees
Jul 16, 2004
your prob going to have to change out the head on that bike to give it less compression. If he has a cool head on there already just swap the dome size.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
You don't adjust the jetting for the type of gas you are using, unless you are going to something exotic like alcohol.

If there was ever any reason to run a high octane gas it would be because the compression ratio of the engine dictated it. Since the engine has been modified for the big bore then there is a high probability that the compression ratio was increased at the same time.

The stock engine probably had a 9:1 compression ratio and would run on regular gas. Many "high performance" stock engines have 12:1 compression ratios and require premium pump gas. If you push the compression ratio above that then you need to run even higher octane fuels, such as aviation gas or racing fuel. You can't just "re-jet" and get away with running a lower octane gas.