Bateman147

Dec 10, 2002
Hi -

I've got both an XR and an XL 600, both '86s. The XR I got because it dropped a valve through the piston, and the XL needs bore/piston/rings (I also got it dirt cheap).

As near as I can tell it looks like I ought to be able to use the XL top end on the XR bottom end and get 628cc. Is there any hidden pitfalls in going this route? As near as I can tell the XR and XL cylinders are the same height, and it looks like everything should bolt right up and work.

Thanks!

Michael

beer_stud_76

Mod Ban
Aug 30, 2002
bateman -

i'm no mechanic so i cannot say if your idea will work or not, but i'll run a few things i know about these two bikes past you and maybe it will tell you something that is not obvious to my mind.

1) the exhaust on the 650L is much more restricted in stock form than the 600R (i presume the air intake is more restricted as well.)

2) the carbs are quite a lot smaller on the 650L

3) the 650L has a heavier flywheel wieght (or maybe it just HAS one and the 600R does not, i cannot remember)

like i said, I have no idea if these things will have an affect on your plan. what i would do is give it a whirl. put the thing together and then have someone you don't particularly care for try it out for you.

jeremiah

Farmer John

T.C.F.<br>(tire changin' fool)
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 8, 2000
XR/XL 600 Heads are the same in 86.
The only difference in the engines should be the stator, cam, & c/s sprocket.

I can't remember if honda put the smog holes in the 86 XL head or not. I know they are on the 87 XL head, but they could easily be pluged witha small plate & gasket.

cujet

Aug 13, 2000
If I remember correctly the XL had a shorter stroke and a 100mm bore. The head was supposed to be larger to fit the bore. There were big bore kits available for the XR that used a 100mm piston. HMMMMM.

Chris

Bateman147

Dec 10, 2002
Hi Guys -