Can I modify a CRF150R to be more mild? (beginner wife)

rodH

Aug 17, 2005
OK, My wife is a beginner rider and we got a CRF150R a few years ago for her (when they first came out). She fell off of it and hurt her knee and has been very intimidated ever since. We went out yesterday and she is having a hard time.

That bike seems to really want to scream, either on or off power, on or off brakes (panic braking throws her off the bike and she stalls it before she realizes she needs to pull in the clutch) and is really twitchy.

She is a total beginner, so I think she needs a different bike or to modify this bike. She is 5'7" and about 125 pounds.

Would changing the gearing on it make it easier for her to ride? Jetting? it just seems really hard to ride slow and I agree, it seems really squirly handling wise as well. or should be just dump it and get something else?

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
You can try going up a tooth on the front sprocket to see if it makes any improvement. It's cheap and easy too.

The jetting might also help. The needle being the most important followed by the pilot. I doubt she ever rides on the main.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Sell it and buy a CRF150F, the current version of the old XR series. The 150R has a power peak set at 12,500 rpm. As a result there is too much cam, too much intake port area, and too little leeway to be ridden in the way you are describing. The chassis is the same. It doesn't have lazy (i.e. forgiving) geometry like an XR. It's a race bike, and all the mickey mouse bolt on junk in the world won't change that fact.

I have a riot with mine, but I wouldn't stick a novice rider on it. That's what TTR125s and CRF150Fs are for.

medwaste

Dec 1, 2006