dnchevyman

Dec 27, 2005
Im getting ready to put a new chain and sprockets on my bike. i plan on cleaning it with kerosein, then w.d. 40 the kerosein off. boiling it in water, Then putting a chain wax/oil lube of some sort on. WHATS THE DIFFERANCE BETWEEN CHAIN WAX AND oil LUBE? also what works best for you guys? this is a non o-ring chain. thanks, i did a search and got this method of installing, but no answers as to differences between lub and wax and an oil lube.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Chain wax is parafin based and is just that - a wax. It works well and doesn't throw off very much . . .

Unfortunately, what little it does throw off is very hard to clean off. Plus, your chain gets gunked up with it.

I've been using chain wax for several months, and I like its lubrication, but I'm considering changing back to lube because of the gunk factor.

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
Why boil it in water? -You having chain soup?

Rob pretty well summed up what chain wax is. Keep in mind that petroleum oil based lubes will often have loads of tackifier in them to keep the stuff adhered to the chain and to help from flinging it off. Just like the parrafin wax does. Both make big time messes that are hard to clean, and will attract dirt and grit that can help to wear the chain and sprockets.
In lubricatiy tests, I think you'll find that NO wax product will outperform most any oil based lube.

But of course...my advise is to look at dry-films, as they are far superior to ANY wax or petroleum based chain lube on the market. In both lubricity and function, as well as economy.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Jaybird said:
But of course...my advise is to look at dry-films, as they are far superior to ANY wax or petroleum based chain lube on the market. In both lubricity and function, as well as economy.

Jaybird: