robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
Clutch Plates - which ones?

I'm looking to buy clutch plates for the RM.

A couple questions. . .

1: Steel, Fiber, both?

2: Tusk, Moose, or should I just spend the money and go Barnett or EBC? I'd like to go inexpensive, but I don't want to replace them again soon.

I've seen mixed reviews on the tusk stuff. My tusk rotor is doing quite well, but I haven't tried the plates.

I can get a standard EBC kit for $55 +shipping.

The tusk complete kit is about $50+ shipping.

Moose steels are $41+ shipping. I guess you have to buy the fibers as well. . .

Last edited:

chevy383cid

Aug 26, 2005
I've been running a tusk(with steel) for 4 months now and I like it,It seams to be holding up good on my 250. But you on the 125(144cc) you might look at the ebc!! Most 125 riders use(and abuse) the clutch a lot. :nod:

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
I just wonder if the EBC standard kit is going to be any better than the Tusk - the EBC race kit is $100+/-.

As to Steels and Fibers - I don't understand it at all - do you always run a mix of the 2?

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
So that's all steels and no fibers . . .

Hmm. So if I ordered the Moose all steel kit, it would apparently include everything I need. . .?

The Tusk stuff is sold out till June 6, so that's not going to do me any good.

chevy383cid

Aug 26, 2005
New friction plates and new steel plates,The friction plates are the ones that wear out ,and most of the time (by then) the steel or aluminim plates(bands) have seen better days!! Soak them over night at least. Where are you thinking of buying them at?? Dennis Kirk,Rocky Mountain

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
After having clutch issues on my son's 03 RM125 I will always stick to OEM fiber plates. We had very poor luck with kit's from Barnett's and DP, never tried EBC or Tusk though.

Chili

Apr 9, 2002
robwbright said:
As to Steels and Fibers - I don't understand it at all - do you always run a mix of the 2?