orion163

Mar 12, 2001
I am currently pursuing a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering technology, and was wondering what you guys know about the current reputation that this type of degree has in industry. Do companies pass up applicants with this degree for somebody with a ME degree? Ill be in graduating 1 year from now, and am curious as to what kind of opportunities I will be qualified for. Any input from you guys out there in industry will be greatly appreciated.

treefinder

Sponsoring Member
Jun 4, 2002
Things may be different now than when I graduated in 1987 :ohmy: , but it struck me then that your bachelors degree served two purposes -
1. Getting your foot in the door somewhere for your first job
2. Showing employers you have the will to stick to something and finish it (I do not share the opinion, but I saw a lot of bias against people that didn't finish school).

Other than that, what you accomplish in your first job will soon be more important than what/where your degree came from.

Are you planning on taking the PE (professional engineer) tests?

kelsorat

Knucklehead Newbie
Nov 5, 2001
In my industry "automation technology" the majority of engineers hold a BS in Electrical Engineering. We have actually found the recent college grads with a manufacturing technology degree have been exposed to more "real world" electrical knowledge and that the EE's know tons of electrical theory, but do not know how this is applied to say designing an electrical system that actually controls something like say a printing press or robot.
If I was to go back to college today I would study Civil Engineering. ME's and EE's knowledge and jobs are being outsourced these days by India and China, but we will always need highways and infrastructure.

orion163

Mar 12, 2001