dp400

Aug 8, 2001
Well, I raced my first enduro this past weekend - the Fools Gold in Georgetown. WOW what a fantastic race and one of the best set of single tracks I've ever ridden!! The course was so well marked it was easy even for a begginer to follow. I remember thinking over and over again - " what a great trail - I wish i knew how to get back to this spot!" I started riding the first section of sigle track as fast I could ride - watching my computer (still trying to figure out how to use the damn thing) and I was determined to make my min. at the first check - where ever it was - kept pushing -past some slower riders - I was running just over my min. by a few sec.s - couldn't seem to brake into my min. know matter how fast I went. I pushed even harder and then saw the check - full speed twards the check - My computer read I was just on my min. but the check guy said I JUST missed my min. - DAMN. Well thats kind of how the rest of my day went. Got caught over my min. twice on the slow sections - I knew I was ahead of my min. but my impatients got the better of me! Learned a lesson there!! Those two cost me 9 points. I felt my speed and endurance were good but my lack of knowledge of how to race an enduro were my weak points - MUCH TO LEARN ! At mile 18 I saw I was catching another rider on a single track and glanced to my left to see where he was - at the same time I was making a left turn and didn't notice the small tree to my left behind the leaves of another tree and BAM - the left side of my bars smash into it and over the bars I go. My thumb was killing me. Sprained it bad and felt bad all over. I though it was over for the day! Climbed back on the bike and went on my way very slowly - just feeling it out to see if I felt good enough to race. After a mile or two I was able to get back up to speed and ate lots of motrin at the first gas stop!! Today I have two big brueses on the inside of my thighs and forarms - all is well though! I felt fine the rest of