riverz

Jun 25, 2003
I am new to the world of dirt bikes so pardon me if I have my terminology wrong...The teeth on my shifter arm is stripped so I have to replace it (it keeps slipping) which is no big deal but I noticed the teeth on the part the arm grips to is also stripping. This looks like a huge job to replace. Any tips? Thanks.

riverz

Jun 25, 2003
I apologize for the multiple post here but I left out obvious information the rules require :)

I have a 94 KDX 200, stock minus airbox mod.

XRDadKDXBeni

Aug 27, 2002
Sounds like you are speaking of the splines on the shaft going into the transmission and the splines on the foot gear shifter. Replacing the gear shifter is the right idea. Changing the tranny shaft is a whole other idea. I'd try a new shifter on the old shaft and make sure the new one is tightened properly - it may work. You might try to clean up the spines on the shaft a bit with the edge of a small file if you think its worth a try. Good luck.

BRush

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jun 5, 2000
On the H model it's not a huge deal to change the shaft. You have to remove the right side cover, the clutch and on or two other minor bits and the new shaft will slide right in. No case splitting is required. I suspect yours is similar.

Michelle

Sponsoring Member
Oct 26, 1999
Originally posted by riverz
I apologize for the multiple post here but I left out obvious information the rules require :)

I have a 94 KDX 200, stock minus airbox mod.
Explanation of multiple post: same post in different forums. Additional post because you forgot something or couldn't edit your post - makes sense ;)

Just thought I'd add that in - far as I can see you did nothing wrong. :)

Have a look at www.buykawasaki.com for a diagram of the tranny of your bike - maybe it'll come clear as to whether it's a major or minor operation.

David Trustrum

~SPONSOR~
Jan 25, 2001
Easy to change shaft, harder to pay for.