ZekeWard

Nov 19, 2002
I just got my WR250F a couple of weeks ago..and I need tips on what to do for winter storage. I will be storing my bike inside where the temp should never go below 50, Should I use STA-BIL
in the gas or drain the tank..? an advice would be great.

thanks
Mark

colorado-high

Jul 4, 2000
I always drain the tank and carb.Put a few oz. of oil in the cylinder and kick it over to lube the cyl., piston and valves.Also store it at TDC you do not want a valve open over the winter.Drain the oil and refill.I clean,lube and adjust everything that I can get to,so in the spring all I have to do is change oil again, gas and go.

ZekeWard

Nov 19, 2002
I am a newbie so please be patient.. but how can I be sure i'm at TDC.
and all my valves are closed. I learned my 4 stork starting sequence (LIMP, LIMP) so I know when I am on my compression stroke, where do I leave it..

Thank You
Mark

cujet

Aug 13, 2000
I suggest sending it here to South Florida:)

Setting the piston on TDC is a very good idea, however you must make sure to do this on the compression stroke, not the exhaust stroke. I find that Stabil works very well, with gas lasting about 1 year without problems. You could use fogging oil spray like on an outboard, however with a plated bore, there is no risk of rust in the bore anyway. Also, the engine has titanium valves, so these will not corrode either.

Chris

Boozer

Oct 5, 2001
If you slowly kick the starter, you will soon find it gets hard (compression stroke). take the plug out and put a LONG length of wire down the hole. continue turning the kick leaver until the wire comes all the way up (on 50mm or so). You are now at TDC - all valves closed. putting a bit of oil down the plug hole is a great idea, to be sure. Also, leave the cap off you fuel tank to allow the petrol fumes to escape. if you don't, the fumes will seep through the plastic and will bubble your stickers.