CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
A job that is.

As a few of you might know, I got “down-sized” back in August. Luckily for me they gave me until November to get the heck out, and I got a decent severance package on top of that.

What my company didn’t know was that I could see it coming long before they did. So I started thinking about a career change early in the year but got real serious about it in July (even more so after August).

I had been looking in many places for job listings, and two days after I got my down-sizing notice, I found an excellent listing at careerbuilder.com. After 3 interviews over a two month period, I got a job offer – on my last day at the old company.

I accepted.

I have been in the aviation insurance business since I graduated college 20 years ago. For the last 19 of those years I have been trying to figure-out how to get the heck out of the insurance business. Five years ago I put together a plan that I thought would enable me to get out of the insurance business while staying in the aviation industry (and preserving my income – an important part of the plan). It took two job changes to get my resume right, and the timing of my dissatisfaction of my current job and the listing for the Moritz position was uncanny. Funny how things work out. I left a job that I had become unhappy with - and unknowingly they gave me a bonus to leave.

I’ll be working for a company called Moritz Aerospace as the global sales manager for their aviation division. We manufacture electronic components that are used in aircraft for data acquisition and digital power (electrical) management. All sales are at the OEM level. This is a growth area in the aviation industry because many aircraft are still in the analog world. The technology and experience gained in this industry will be applied to other areas such as marine, automobile and other transportation industries.