babycleatus

Oct 19, 2004
Im going to Little Sahara sand dunes over spring break. and I have a stock kdx 200 im getting a 110 100 18 8 paddle in the rear and am wondering if I need a pipe for the dunes, has anyone taken their kdx to the dunes and if so is a pipe a necessity

ps: I love this bike, ive ridden all over east and north Texas.

Feanor

Aug 10, 2004
Hi BC,

I have an 04 220 and its ALOT of fun in the sand! Last November I was at Pismo Beach for three days here in California...

I had the Gnarly Desert (rev) pipe on it at that time, and NO paddle, and I was more concerned with overheating than with hooking up since I spent alot of time throwing nice roost and subsequently not going very fast much of the time :)

I'm a newb now and was even more of one then, and so I can't intelligently comment on wether or not a rev pipe is a "necessity", but in many cases I was WOT and DEFINITELY on the pipe to get out of some areas and perhaps in that way it helped, but you'll have a paddle and I hear that makes a huge difference. You won't be needing to get that rear wheel lit up like me just to get moving :)

Before you head out to the sand just makes sure your radiators are topped off with some high quality coolant, and keep in mind that first gear is essentially useless in the sand LoL!

Oh! and make sure you make the proper suspension adjustmenst for sand riding, lots of instructions on this site for what is proper... I'll defer that to the experts...

Have fun!

Feanor

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
An aftermarket pipe is certainly not a necessity.

Don't know anything about 'Little Sahara'..but most sand riding around here is sea-level. Proper jetting is a necessity. There is a whole lot of load running a paddle in the sand. Your bike is going to get hot and it's going to use a lot of fuel.

If you're lean, you're asking for it. Don't know what a 220 needs in the sand..but the 200 oem main jet is a 160...I'll generally run a good 2-up from there.