Dave the Ace

May 19, 2002
Hi all, new guy here!! I have a 2001 KX 250, that I ride the majority of the time in hare scrambles, and enduro's. I need some help with my suspension setup. I am 6'1, and weigh 185 lbs. I have taken care of the drivetrain portion of the bike. I have installed a FMF SST pipe, dual mode ignition, Boyeson 2 stage reeds, and a 7 oz flywheel weight. I am running 13/50 gearing. I am running Dunlop 752 rubber.My suspension settings, are pretty much stock, I have set sag at 100mm. I have moved the forks up 1/2 inch in the clamps. I ride primarily woods type riding, and I am finding the bike is just plain too stiff. I am not a pro suspension guy, and don't know where to start to get more compliance. The bike works well on smoother surfaces, but is very" nervous" in rough woods trails, particularly in the front. I have a hard time making the bike track straight without constant correction. any help would be greatly appreciated, or any reccomendation for a suspnsion shop. thanks!!

marcusgunby

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 9, 2000
You will need to reduce compression(bottom adjuster anticlockwise on forks, top adjuster on shock anticlcokwise, also try turning the outer(high speed adjuster) out .The KX will not be good in this terrain without work on it as its set up for mx.

Dave the Ace

May 19, 2002
Thanks Marcus, i am aware of the bikes shortcomings. I would definetley(sp) consider some extensive mod's, if they are worth it. I REALLY like the way this bike works. I think the motor is very well suited to hare scrambles, and enduro's, especially the way I have modified it so far. I REALLY need help with getting the suspension Woods ready. I do not MX this bike, and spend very little time on a MX track. I DO ice race the bike in the winter, but I can jump that hurdle when I get to it. I do agree that I need more work, than just turning some screws, but I really don't know where to start. Help me out Guys!! Thanks in advance

Dave

marcusgunby