New Member, New Rider, and New KDX

kwb377

Dec 30, 2004
Hi everyone, new KDX owner and DRN member checking in. Just got done with my first ride on my new KDX...an '04 bought last Thursday. :cool: It was really more of an impulse purchase. My buddy's been hounding me to get a dirtbike, and so we went to the dealer to look around. Kawi's promo of $39/month for two years clinched it (was also looking at a TTR250).

I've been riding street bikes for 18 years (since 15...learned to ride on a KZ750) and have been a motor officer for the last two years, but this is my first dirtbike. I mountain biked for several years, so I had the basic technique down. The first 15 minutes or so of the ride I thought "WTH have I gotten myself into?" (new, stiff boots and a mal-adjusted shift lever didn't help). After that...what a sweet ride! The KDX is very forgiving for a newbie. Went trail riding, and two of the three guys I went with were on YZ's and race MX and sportbikes so my learning curve was very short. By the end of the day I was at least able to keep them in sight...and only crashed once (dropped it a few times, though). :)

Lots of great info here...I've got alot to learn. All I can say so far is...this bike rocks! :yeehaw:

Canadian Dave

Super Power AssClown
Apr 28, 1999
Its great to have you KWB337. Enjoy your new KDX and be sure to check out the JustKDX web site and the new bike prep section included there.

David

Timr

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 26, 1999
Where did you guys go riding? I'm in Bham too. I haven't riden my bike since June 04 and I'm jonesing to go out and ride some. There's a lot of dirt bikers in Bham.

Welcome and enjoy the bike.

kwb377

Dec 30, 2004
Dave,
Thanks for the welcome...been checking out the site already (been staying up way too late reading all this stuff :) ).

Tim,