Feanor

Aug 10, 2004
Ok, well if the reader of this hasn't seen my previous posts, let me just say that I'm an ultra newbie who just bought my new KDX-220R last monday...

My neighbor very fortunately is into all things racing on and off road and so he had a receiver hitch carrier that he lent me so I could even bring the bike home after I bought it! :)

My younger brother whose been trying to get me to ride for years comes over after I get the bike home and gives me pointers on riding and accessories to pick up later and their order of importance, we also try to hammer out some dates for riding.

He got on the bike and kicked it over in one try... First impressions by him are that the thing is insanely easy to kick start compared to his Honda 250 motocrosser, also that it is about (in his words) tens times quieter :)

After he left for home I jumped on and started it a few times to get the hang of it (Did I mention that this is my first motorcycle and when I ride it, it will be the second time I have ridden a motorcycle? :) )

So there I am, idling away and I think to myself... "I Live in a court... I know everyone on the street, I'm just going to throw my helmet on here and tool around at slow speed for one lap up and down the block, what could happen?"

So I reach over to the workbench and grab my helmet (and gloves too since they were tright there) and after putting them on I am aimed at the exit of my garage, blipping the throttle and feeling quiet exhilirated...

Then as I accelerate forward slowly, I get to the driveway and stop... A thought again runs through my head... "not street legal... "

Then after a few seconds of hesitation I push the bike backwards into the garage and shut it down... I'm feeling a little like a weenie, always expecting the worst as I take my helmet and gloves off, but I resign myself to the notion that I have nothing to feel bad about; I have a great new bike and its only really two days before being able to try it out...