US Open (Spoiler)

Senior KX Rider

Super Power AssClown
Nov 9, 1999

Gosselaar Takes 125cc Main 10/11/2003

According to odds makers, either 2003 THQ World Supercross GP Champion Chad Reed or 10-time National MX/SX Champion Ricky Carmichael were expected to win the Maxxis U.S. Open. However, they obviously weren’t counting on a determined David Vuillemin, who grabbed the holeshot in tonight’s main event and ran away to victory.

Vuillemin led every lap of the Open class, ahead of Carmichael, Ernesto Fonseca and Chad Reed early on. Reed came through the pack to pass Fonseca, and then Carmichael, but he couldn’t do much to put a dent in Vuillemin’s lead until the late laps, when Vuillemin was admittedly on cruise control.

Vuillemin took the win over Reed and Carmichael, who had a large gap over Mike LaRocco and Fonseca. It’s still anybody’s event, though, as if Reed wins tomorrow, he will still win the $100,000, and if Carmichael wins tomorrow, and Reed beats Vuillemin for second, Carmichael would win his third U.S. Open Championship.

It seems that the 125cc Pro Main not only replaced last year’s 125cc Amateur Cup, but the Four-Stroke class as well, as the vast majority of entrants were racing 250cc thumpers of one brand or another. Chris Gosselaar made the CRF250R debut a successful one as he topped the 125cc main, saying later that his basically box-stock bike was “like cheating.”

Most of the action was behind Gosselaar, as Kelly Smith held the spot for much of the race in his Boost Mobile/Yamaha/Troy Racing debut. However, late in the race Smith was passed by MotoXXX’s Troy Adams, who went on to take second in maybe his best showing ever. Smith got third over Andrew Short, who won the unofficial two-stroke class on his RM125, and SoBe Suzuki’s Broc Hepler aboard his RM-Z250.

Notable four-stroke pilots Brock Sellards and Steve Boniface tangled just past the start of the main and both dropped out with apparent injuries.

Suzuki’s Nicco Izzi topped the 85cc class for the night with a 2-1 showing. Jeff Alessi won the first moto, but took a wicked spill in the second moto after overjumping the double portion of the track’s triple jump and slamming into the face of the third mound. Alessi was carried off the track on a backboard reportedly with two broken legs and was taken to the hospital.

KTM’s Zach Osborne, believe it or not, sits second overall with a 5-7 score, while Team Green’s Sean Hackley is third with a 7-6 so far.

For complete results, please visit the official website of the Maxxis U.S. Open,

Senior KX Rider

Super Power AssClown
Nov 9, 1999

Friday Results

85cc Invitational, Overall results

1. Dominic Izzi, St. Clair, Mich., Suzuki
2. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., KTM
3. Jeff Alessi, Apple Valley, Calif., Honda
4. Sean Hackley, Ovilla, Texas, Kawasaki
5. Broc Tickel, Curly, N.C., Honda
6. Josh Hill, LaCenter, Wash., Yamaha
7. Ryan Dungey, Chaska, Minn., Honda
8. William Duffy Jr., Churchton, Mary., Suzuki
9. Michael Picone, Wareham, Mass., Suzuki
10. Will Hahn, Belpre, Kan., Honda
11. Devon Pilkington, Virginia Beach, Va., Suzuki
12. Trey Canard, Elk City, Okla., Kawasaki
13. Drew Gosselaar, Juniper Hills, Calif., Suzuki
Pro Circuit 125cc Pro Class
1. Chris Gosselaar, Huntington Beach, Calif., Honda
2. Troy Adams, Brooksville, Fla., Yamaha
3. Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., Yamaha
4. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki
5. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Suzuki
6. Mike Brown, Gray, Tenn., Yamaha
7. Ryan Mills, Huntington Beach, Calif., Honda
8. Steve Mertens, Sonoma, Calif., Yamaha
9. Tim Wiegand, Chatsworth, Calif., Yamaha
10. Michael Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Yamaha
11. Steve Boniface, Temecula, Calif., Suzuki
12. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, Yamaha
Alpinestars 250cc Pro Class
1. David Vuillemin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Dad City, Fla., Yamaha
3. Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Honda
4. Mike LaRocco, Huntington Beach Fla., Honda
5. Ernesto Fonseca, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
6. Josh Demuth, Dallas, Texas, Yamaha
7. Grant Langston, Temecula, Calif., KTM
8. Nicky Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Suzuki
9. Jason Thomas, Melrose, Fla., Honda
10. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda
11. Ryan Clark, Corrales, N.M., Yamaha
12. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki
KTM Junior Supercross
1. Jessy Nelson, Templeton, Calif., KTM
2. Cole Prichard, Burlington, Wis., KTM
3. Jace Own, Charleston, Ill., KTM
4. Eric Yorba, Chula Vista, Calif., KTM
5. Mitchell Oldenburg, Brownville, Minn., KTM
6. Brandon Orr, Templeton, Calif., KTM
7. Cody McElroy, Peoria, Ariz., KTM
8. Justin Summers, Milton, Fla., KTM
9. Troy Graffunder, Rescue, Calif., KTM
10. Austin Aguilar, Riverside, Calif., KTM
11. Bailey Wintermute, Sponaway, Wash., KTM
12. Drew Fields, Bessemer, Ala., KTM
13. Caden Hadley, Bountiful, Utah, KTM
14. Hayden Richardson, Stockbridge, Ga., KTM
15. Jonathan Greiner, Lucas, Iowa, KTM

Senior KX Rider

Super Power AssClown
Nov 9, 1999
Even though he has yet to win a National Championship on this end of the world, Chad Reed showed that he has the heart of a champion, as he announced that he would donate a significant portion of his U.S. Open $100,000 paycheck to his friend and countryman Jamie Brockman, who was badly injured at a National Motocross earlier this year and is still awaiting a trip back home to Australia.

In order to win the overall U.S. Open Championship, Reed just had to win tonight’s main event. In order to win the main event, Reed had to fight off two-time U.S. Open Champion and 10-time National MX/SX Champion Ricky Carmichael. Carmichael put up a much harder fight tonight, as he adjusted some things on his motorcycle, but even with the further development of his new setup, he made just enough mistakes to allow Reed a pretty comfortable win in the end. People are already talking about Carmichael possibly being the underdog coming into this year’s AMA Supercross Series, which would be unusual to say the least for a defending champion of any kind, much less a three-time defending champ.

Reed’s teammate and last night’s winner David Vuillemin didn’t get off to the start he enjoyed last night, but still raced to a strong third-place finish, just ahead of holeshot artist Ernesto Fonseca and defending U.S. Open champ Mike LaRocco.

There were three 125cc motorcycles in tonight’s Pro Circuit 125cc main event, and one of them belonged to Andrew Short. Short came from behind in the main to pass Mike Brown, in his Boost Mobile/Yamah/Troy Racing YZ250F debut, for the lead, only for Brown to punt him off the track around the sweeping first turn only two laps from the end of the race, much to the crowd’s chagrin. Brown went on to win the main over Kelly Smith and Ryan Mills. Brown was booed as he crossed the finish line, and again on the podium, although he didn’t make matters much better for himself when he said, “If you can’t take the heat, get out of the kitchen,” and then followed that up with, “Nobody likes a winner.”

Smith got the championship with his 3-2 showing, and nobody booed him despite the fact that he won, disproving Brown’s theory. Brown finished second overall, and MotoXXX’s Troy Adams finished third. Even though all three of those riders rode four-strokes to their podium positions, their trophies all featured Pro Circuit-replica two-stroke exhaust pipes.

Nicco Izzi picked up where he left off last night to win the 85cc class not only for the night, but overall, after once again going 2-1 on the night. Izzi’s 94 total points earned him the championship over Josh Hill (80) and Will Hahn (78).

And in a last piece of news, multi-time Four-Stroke National Champion Paul Carpenter will soon be announced as a member of Team Chevy Trucks Kawasaki, according to a source close to the team. He will join Michael Byrne and James Stewart on the squad for the 2004 season.

To see the complete results, please visit the U.S. Open website at, and for the complete story, be sure to pick up this week’s Cycle News.