Wheel Bearings and swing arm - Grease

coretex

Aug 31, 2005
Hi Guys

I have a new yz250, and i have been told the factory greasing is very little. i have rode the bike about 5 times now, and i don't want to premature wear on the bearings front and rear and swing arm, im looking at some water proof grease, but i have little machnicaly experience and want to have a shot at doing this my self instead of paying some one to do so.

Whats involved, how hard is it to do? are they are any how-to for my bike or any doc besides the manual.

thanks

snb73

Nov 30, 2003
coretex,

The advice you were given is correct. Most (read almost always) factory assembly lube is minimal at best. Go to your local parts store and purchase a good quality waterproof grease. Spend an evening taking apart your swing arm, linkage, and steering head and lube them up good. I have gone so far as to lube the rear brake pivot bolt and kickstarter too.

Definately get a manual, it makes maintenence very easy.

Good luck, Steve.

Last edited:

i_955

Dec 18, 2004
No grease repels dust so don't just grease em & forget em thinking the waterproof grease was an over site at the YZ factory.
The more you ride in sandy conditions the more you should clean & regrease, especially the swingarm/shock area.
Keep that YZ in good shape for me because I'll be buying it off ya next spring. :nod:

Pick up a torque wrench. Useful on nuts that torque a joint that moves.

coretex

Aug 31, 2005
i_955 said:
No grease repels dust so don't just grease em & forget em thinking the waterproof grease was an over site at the YZ factory.
The more you ride in sandy conditions the more you should clean & regrease, especially the swingarm/shock area.
Keep that YZ in good shape for me because I'll be buying it off ya next spring. :nod:

Pick up a torque wrench. Useful on nuts that torque a joint that moves.

Ya going to pay shipping to AUS :)