For those riding with a GPS (or just 4 fun!)

Rodzilla

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 21, 1999
Hey Crew,

I know some of us are using GPS devices when we ride, some (like me) have units wired into our bikes. I'm still new to using it, but I wanted to share this.

I'm currently using a Garmin III+ and am happy with it. I also use a "RAM" mounting system from Cycoactive (www.cycoactive.com)

If you use this type unit, you know it would be pretty easy to lose the antenna during a ride.

I splurged last week and bought an amplified antenna off of Ebay and can't say enough good things about it!

Its small, tough and almost impossible to lose like the stock antenna!

I also run my GPS unit in my truck and tried the antenna there first, with the stock antenna I would get four satellites maybe five on a good day, but it could take up to 3-5 minutes to get lock.

With this antenna, I commonly get 5-9 sats! Lock time is usually under 30 seconds. Last night, I actually had 9 sats locked with 6 at full strength! (if you use a GPS you know how cool this is!)

I mounted the antenna on the dash and ran the cord under the dash to my GPS.

It works so well, I went ahead and bought a second antenna for the bike

Neat thing is that the unit is around $25 (+/-) and is really small, about the size of a 50 cent piece (remember those?) and maybe 1/2 inch high.

The antenna is small enough to mount under the headlight on the front fender of my KTM, or it has enough cord to run under the seat and mount on the back fender behind the seat. (the unit is small enough that you can slide your weight back and not hit the unit). The antenna is so small and unobtrusive you could probably mount it behind the number plate or on the frame near the tank, but a location where it has a clear view of the sky is optimal/preferred.

The unit weighs about 1 oz. (+/-) so it's light and small. Since I run the black fenders you really have to look to even tell it's there.