hvyw8t

Oct 27, 2000
HEY , ANYONE OUT THERE RIDING A 520SX? I AM CONSIDERING TRYING ONE THIS FALL BUT HAVE RESERVATIONS ABOUT RELIABILITY. MY CURRANT RIDE IS A 2001 CR 250, MY LAST RIDE WAS A 99 380SX THAT HAD MAJOR PROBLEMS. EVERY THING THAT COULD HAVE BROKE, DID. I RIDE ONLY MX AND SX, AND HAVE HEARD GOOD THINGS ABOUT THE BIKE. I RIDE THE VET EXPERT CLASS AND AND AM LOOKING FORWARD TO NOT SHIFTING AS MUCH . ANY 520 GUYS OUT THERE? THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Bill_RC1

Mar 29, 2001
Switch to 520 SX

Hi,

I switched to a '01 520 SX about 4 months ago. Was riding a '98 CR250 and a '95 CR500. Best decision I made for a bike choice. I'm 43 yrs old and I've been riding 2-strokes for over 20 years.

I ride/race MX and Desert races and this bike just flat out hauls. When you put the bike on a stand and start looking at the quality that KTM buts into this bike from the Handlebars to the Hydraulic Clutch you will never go back to any of the Japanese bikes.

No breakage issues at all on mine -- only problem that I had was the kick starter bolt came out on my first ride. Since then I've loctited every bolt and no problems.

The outdoor MX tracks that I race/ride on require only two gears, 2nd and 3rd, and 3rd not that much. You don't need 1st or 4th on this bike on a track. I do use 4th in desert race.

Do a search thru the board for 520 SX upgrades and you will see some of the changes posted that help improve the performance for the bike.

Mine are, muffler, carbon fiber skid plate/guards, jetting, 50T rear gear, heavier springs and Pro-Action revalving and EE clutch lever.

Hope to hear that you purchased on of these beasts you will love the bike!

Bill

hvyw8t

Oct 27, 2000
thanks.........