+30

Aug 2, 2005
Breezing through the catalog I came across an ad for a "Stage 3 Modified cyl head" from pro circuit for 04-05 crf250 or kxf250. this modified head bolt on kit retails for $4099.95 Im a 35 yr old vet rider on a two stroke. I remember mowing lawns for an entire summer to buy a pair of $130 three piece cranks for my bmx bike.(and walking uphill in the snow both ways to and from school blah blah blah...) How many lawns do the kids of the working poor these days have to mow to be competitive in the 125 class? If this continues how much will bolt ons cost in 10 years? $15000???The expense of the four strokes seem to be getting out of hand.Do your local tracks or amateur events you attend even have a stock class? What do you guys think? What if you had several kids into this stuff? Maybe Im missing something...four stroke riders do save alot of money on premix.

Last edited:

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 24, 2000
+30 said:
The expense of the four strokes seem to be getting out of hand.

have you seen the pro circuit replacement pipe for the dual silencer hondas? $999.95

Masterphil

DRN's Resident Lunatic
Aug 3, 2004
The bottom line is, a better rider on a older/unmodded bike will still whoop up on a lesser rider on a new/modded bike.

HajiWasAPunk

Aug 5, 2005
+30 said:
Do your local tracks or amateur events you attend even have a stock class?

Yes, thank God! And I've seen a bunch of races and even experienced myself where a better rider on an stock bike blows by somebody who's got more money than talent. Still it's crazy how many ppl I see in the 85 class with $5000+ trailers, back-up bikes etc..

+30

Aug 2, 2005
mtk