nicodemus

Jan 8, 2005
:bang: I have an '01 Cr 250 with a nasty hit I'd like to mellow out. The bike is all stock except for a rad valve. I'm a novice MX rider (riden mainly trails) & am usually on tight/hard pack tracks trying to keep the thing from exploding under me. Personally, I don't care if I lose anything on top; I don't spend much time there anyway. I know of porting, flywheel weights & pipes, but am looking if other options exist. I've also used suggested jettings, with no luck, too rich or too lean. I'm @ 30 pilot, 2 sizes leaner needle, & 410 main @ sea level in warm Texas weather. Anyone have any suggestions? If I can't get this mellowed I'm also thinking of looking into a '01 Cr 125. Something I can keep on the pipe on a tight track. Anybody have one?

-Jason

+30

Aug 2, 2005
could you trade for a smelly crappy 4 stroke? -kidding ---you could overpack your silencer i guess and ride with the choke on let the air out of tires. sorry just had to knock the pins down........I have a 03 cr 250 and it has no bottom. the 01 has a good solid bottom so the gnarly pipe wont do much to mellow out the hit i dont think on the 01, it will however kill the top like you said. I would think eric gorr would have some ideas, you may want to try a jd jetting kit lots of cr riders use them. I didnt spend enough time to get mine dialed, but those guys say they are great. Other cr owners who couldnt get their carbs dialed went the kehin route carbpartswarehouse.com there is a lengthy thread on the kehin conversion. do you already have the flywheel weights on the bike? they make a huge difference, even an aftermarket clutch with steel plates is noticeable in and out of corners. if that doesnt do it loosen up the spark plug,,---kidding...dont try that one. :rotfl:

mx547

Ortho doc's wet dream
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 24, 2000
nicodemus said:
If I can't get this mellowed I'm also thinking of looking into a '01 Cr 125. Something I can keep on the pipe on a tight track.