Trail-Lite travel trailers and trucks

trout

~SPONSOR~
Apr 23, 2003
Hey guys,

we are looking at at trail-lite travel trailers for my family. Does anyone here have one? We are considering a 21 - 26 footer. I'd be pulling it with an 03 dodge ram quadcab with the 5.7L hemi. Anyone here pull a travel trailer very much?

Any input/comments/advice are greatly appreciated. I am totally new to travel trailers.

SPD

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 20, 2001
I have a 24ft KZ camper that I pull with a 99 Ram 4x4, V-10,373 rears and auto. I get 8 to 9 mpg at 60mph when we go south thru the mtns.

oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
we pull almost every weekend to races but our experience is with a ford F250 SD diesel. I will try to help as much as I can-
Your 5.7 hemi should have plenty of power but make sure what rearend you have to decide your full capability. We had a 22 foot KZ Coyote toyhauler which weighed in at about 4200 empty and maxed out at around 67000 loaded. Something in this range should be good for you. The guy I sold it to this month has a chev 3/4T van and he said it towed it great on the 500 mile trip home with it.
If you don't have a tow package on your truck be sure to add a tranny cooler and tow in OD only if it isn't searching between gears.
We didn't experience a drastic (from 22 not towing to 18 towing) drop in MPG with the diesel but with gas expect more drop off. Be sure you have a high enough rated hitch and use the weigh distributor system to save your suspension.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
When my dad had a travel trailer (he now has a 5th wheel) he had some sway control set up.. WHen he would get passed by 18 wheelers, the trailer wouldn't sway due too the truck passing by.. That, and take your time while towing..
RIck

trout

~SPONSOR~
Apr 23, 2003
rickyd said: