stevenminix

Nov 28, 2009
back tire will not hook

most 2 smokes ive ridden hook up pretty decent, well mine will when its short shifted, but when i pin it it wants just spin the tire, tires not in too bad shape either, its a dunlop 756.. the suspension has been redone thru pazzios for a 200 pound rider and im 200 lbs. is there anything besides a new tire on the back to make her hook a lil better. i dont wanna mess with suspension, because it has been done well. i just wanna get all my power to the ground.

MXSparx

Mr. Meltsomeglass
Jul 25, 1999
NoVa
Throttle control. Might need to fan the clutch a bit.
Practice
Practice
Practice

stevenminix

Nov 28, 2009
Hey sorry guys the bike is an 02 yamaha yz250. My sag who knows, haha yeah I should but I'm not too good with suspensions. My air press ? Need to check that do what do u guys recomend I should start with? And from there should I go more or less

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Wow, you really need to spend a little time to educate yourself on suspension setup. Not all the little internal workings details but at least how to set the bike up properly. A rally good resource is a factory service manual or even better Eric Gorr's book which will also have lots of other useful info. The correct tire for the conditions and tire pressure can make a big impact on how a bike hooks up or doesn't. Figure out they type of terrain and get a tire for it then find the proper pressure. After that learn how to control the throttle. Kevin Windham is one of the best at this and it recently worked to his advantage. He looked smooth and hooked up where everybody else looked like a bunch of ham fisted monkeys overloaded on Monster Energy drinks.

stevenminix

Nov 28, 2009