which hunting rifle

This season i am going to start hunting whitetail and wild boar/hog. which rifle would be good for that type of hunting? I want to use the same rifle for both types of hunting. I will be hunting in south georgia and northern florida. I really like the way bolt action rifles look but which one would have enough power to put down a large boar and whitetail?

I would say some type of 270 winchester made by remington would be fine...

i currently have two rifles. my savage .243 is my favorite, small and little kick. i know from experience it could take down a whitetail and im pretty sure it could handle a boar.

i also have a savage 7mm magnum which has a LOT more power and kick. it could easily take down either one.

Moose said:
dirtrider.net :think:
off-topic discussion forum :nod:

Thanks for the advice guys. I am new to hunting and rifles. I am gonna go in search of one in the next few weeks or so to see what i can find.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
I would want something with a BIG bang for boar. Those guys tend to not be really happy to begine with and when you irritate them they get really nasty.

XRpredator

AssClown SuperPowers
Damn Yankees
I have to agree with Pat. Boars is related to Bears, and both can take a lot of damage before they go down.

I'd bump it up a little and go for a .308 or .30/06. Might be a tad overkill for deer, but you can get lighter loads for 'em. If you really want to be sure, go 7mm Rem Mag or .300 Win Mag (DEFINITELY overkill for deer, but nice flat shooters).

If I had my 'druthers, I'd look into a lever action .44 magnum, and I'd pack the pistolero chambered the same for the close range stuff with the pigs, but I already got an /06 and a 7mm Mag.

BadgerMan

Mi. Trail Riders
XRpredator said:
I'd bump it up a little and go for a .308 or .30/06.
Ditto......Savage makes a great shooting bolt action rifle for the money.

XRpredator said: