Are Hi-Point boots any good for woods riding?

savage

May 30, 2003
I'm riding the rocky mountains, so the ground is ultra-technical sharp rocks. All the boot discussions seem to focus on Sidi Force, Alpinstars Tech 6&8, and Fox Pro Forma. Are these just the best for MX & SX? A rep at Bob's told me the Hi-Points were the best trail riding boots, so I ordered a pair that will ship tomorrow. After a bit of research, it seems like there the only boots made like this, so I'm a bit concerned. Are the Hi-Points just retro-styled poser boots, or are they the ones I really want?

I understand for trail riding, I need something a bit more flexible to anchor on uneven footing, but I want enough support so that I don't break an ankle (already broke my left one snowboarding), and I'm a bit concerned abount a rock shot to the boot without the plastic guards won't offer the protection I need.

Any input?

savage

May 30, 2003
More info.

I'm new to the sport and am 39 years old on a 2000 xr400. I'm not looking to do anything too crazy, but want something that will support and protect even when I get better. I am a steeps and speed freak on a snowboard, so I know I will get ok for an old guy with a bit of practice. I'd be happy if I could jump 20 feet. I've been riding the bike 4-5 times a week as I work nights, so I'm expecting to advance quick and put a lot of wear on some boots. I'm basically a ski bum looking for a summer passion.

So do I need the high tech to protect my old parts, or is the old school for the old guy going to do the trick?

TooBadBrad

Jan 31, 2003
High Point boots set the standard for many years untill the distributing company had problems. IMO they are very good, maybe not up to tech 8's or sidi force in ankle protection, but very good for anything but extreme type riding. They are more water proof than the others too.

wibby

Mod Ban
Mar 15, 2003