Vaulta

Jan 19, 2004
hey guys, Iam having some issues with my bike. I am new to riding, I tried to start it today and it died after 30 seconds with the choke on in idle. Then I could not get it started, I have a new plug in. also, I noticed a good amount of black oil which seems to be coming out in front of the spark plug. Like, thiers the plug, right in front of that about half inch thiers a bolt, then right in front of the bolt thiers a little place where you can stick your finger in and thats where thiers black oil. I am waiting to install new gaskets for my clucth and primary covers which are leaking. I would prechate any help, I starting to get #issed off. thanx alot guys
vaulta

fuzzy

~SPONSOR~
Jul 26, 2002
Possibly. Kinda hard to follow your description. There should be no spooge coming from ANYWHERE around your cylinder. Exhaust leak? KIPS cover leak?

canyncarvr

~SPONSOR~
Oct 14, 1999
Your description puts your finger between the front bracket right at the head/cylinder junction.

Fuzzy's right. There should be NO goop there. None! An exhaust 'leak' will be a detriment to performance and should be taken care of. Doubt you would see the evidence of that where your description (I think) puts your finger.

You might check the torque on the head fasteners. DO NOT tighten them past spec 'for good measure' cuz it's leaking.

If the fastener's are loose, maybe that will take care of the spooge. If they aren't, at least take the head off, clean up the mating surfaces real well (check for damage to either surface) replace the gasket..torque the fasteners on reassembly.

Jet your bike correctly to get rid of the drips in the first place.

Last edited:

Vaulta

Jan 19, 2004